top of page
  • Writer's pictureJournalism Class

Mr. Roate

Caricature Teacher

By: Kimberly Borosko

Mike Roate is the new High School art teacher here at IKM-Manning. He has been teaching for 8 years. But before IKM-Manning he was a teacher at the Clarinda school, than a sub and Parapro at Bondurant Farrar. Rotate went to Grand View University in Des Moines. He teaches 7th through 12th grade art classes at IKM-Manning Schools. He use to teach 3rd-8th grade art at Clarinda, but he also taught some High School At Risk Programs.  

Mr. Roate’s eight sisters and mother made him want to pursue a career into teaching. He states that at the time “My wife constantly was telling me to go back to school to be a teacher. So after five years I went back.” He had lots of people inspiring him, not just one. “I have had students inspire me on how they have handled certain situations. Many professional artist have also inspired me. I also had many teachers that inspired me on their point of view.” Inspiration is everywhere!

Mr. Roate’s philosophy for his students is “Everything is a learning experience. Everything is fixable, It may not be the fix you want, but everything is fixable.” Roate is going to be coaching, outside he sells his services and artworks. He plays music as a hobby and he also makes cooking posts. Mr. Roate will eat almost anything once. He once ate a Scorpion pizza at the  Illinois State fair. He mostly liked Art, History and Geometry when he was in high school.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page