top of page
  • Writer's pictureJournalism Class

Is Prom Worth It?

I think that prom is worth attending at least once during high school. Prom is worth it even though it is so expensive. It’s worth the money  because you get to dress up for a day, take your date to dinner, dance and more things later in the night. I think that spending money to get a dress or a tuxedo is worth the money, but I think that getting a limo or crazy things like that is not necessary and not worth the money. Some people aren’t willing to spend large amounts for prom, but others go above and beyond to make this night a night to remember. I have mixed feelings about prom, but I still look forward to it because it was a fun night where you can hang out with your friends and forget about school. It’s a time for everyone to get together and just have a great time and make unforgettable memories before we all leave for the summer. Everyone opens up more on prom night and a lot of friendships and even relationships are made on that night. Last year I went as a junior and I am planning on attending my senior prom. Where to sit is definitely an issue, so people should make sure they have a group they can sit with before they go. There is just too much stress to deal with in your final year of highschool. Girls tend to  stress more than guys because getting your dress, scheduling your hair and makeup appointments and getting your nails professionally done are a lot of appointments to make, not to mention paying for all of these things Also they get nervous about the guys not asking them to go to prom with them, that’s why I think the girls should ask the guys if the guys won’t. I think prom is something to look forward forward to for girls but most guys just don’t care enough about the actual prom experience. Most guys don’t like going to prom because they don’t like dancing, dressing up in a tuxedo, and having to sing and dance for most of the night with a group of girls. I believe that prom is a strong school tradition because it is a fun way to celebrate life and all its’ accomplishments.


By Kylie Gruhn

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alone

bottom of page