top of page
  • Writer's pictureJournalism Class

Ability Grouping

In my opinion, I think students shouldn’t be grouped by ability. I believe this to be true  because kids wouldn’t be challenged to do their best if they were around others that are at the same skill level.  They might not perform as well either because they might not try as hard, knowing that they don’t have as high of expectations expected of them as before. Iwas grouped by my ability at school before. In some ways, it did help me but I believe it did more harm than good for me. At the time, I was upset because I felt I could do better than the group my teacher had put me in.  So, in some ways, it affects a child’s self-esteem to be put into groups. I think it affects each student differently.he students in the higher ability groups might feel proud and confident when being grouped. I also do see the good reasons for grouping students though too. It might help the teacher teach the students who need more assistance. It might also help the students being able to work more at the pace they’re more comfortable with, If students only have to work at their skill level and aren't challenged in any way how are they supposed to grow academically?   


By Katie Duff

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alone

bottom of page