top of page
  • Writer's pictureJournalism Class

Life on the Farm


The best thing about living on a farm, for me, is the variety of things it allows you to do. There are so many reasons why the farm life is better than any other kind of life. Those reasons include: there’s a lesson in everything,  animals become your best friends, seasons are more amazing, the freedom you have, stronger family bonds, baby animals, and your friends are jealous. It’s all just an incredible experience: one I probably take for granted having grown up/lived on a farm. I am blessed with being closely connected with your food, being able to connect with animals each day, and also being able to learn new things everyday.the never ending learning process. For me, the very best part is simply the open spaces and the sense of freedom. I love watching the seasons change, watching the animals grow, the crops be planted,, and harvested each year. The amazing smell of fresh air…..tinged with manure and the kinship with neighbors and other farmers is absolutely incredible. I love being busy and working around the farm. Also watching things grow can be neat: seeing the first sprouts of a newly planted field, seeing the first blooms, plucking the first ripe cucumber and eating it while walking rows. I don’t always enjoy doing hard work and helping out, but it is good to be outside and be active and being busy instead of lounging around doing nothing. I would strongly encourage anyone who hasn’t experienced life on a farm to try it out in some small way. Just living on a farm is not boring like living in a town. The land, the animals, and the work is what makes me a happy person. I don’t know what I would do if I lived in a town.


By Kylie Gruhn

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Alone

bottom of page